What Are The Seven Deadly Sins: Do You Know You Are Free

The list of sins which are considered  to be ones which the God hates have been restructured at times over the centuries since they first appeared in Proverbs. In each case, the sins are those which put self first. In the book of Proverbs, there are seven sins listed. The book of Galatians includes some of the earlier list, but also adds some other sins which are anathema to God. The current list of those faults which are considered the seven Deadly Sins today include anger, greed, laziness, pride, lust, envy and gluttony.

The seven sins identified in Proverbs, believed to be written by King Solomon include pride, deceit, killing innocents, planning evil, putting oneself in a situation to sin, bearing false witness against another, and stirring up controversy among believers. In Galatians, the list of sins is significantly longer. It includes uncleanness, idolatry, sorcery, strife, heresies and revelings, as well as some of the ones from Proverbs. Paul says that those who participate in these sins won’t inherit the Kingdom of God. For this reason, the group from Galatians are considered as possible Mortal Sins.

The classification of “Mortal Sins” are believed to be those which, unless repentance is experienced, break the connection of the sinner to God. Even those sins which are labeled as deadly sins (largely by the Catholic Church) will only result in damnation if unconfessed. The Catholic Church also has a second category of sins, Venial Sins, which are considered to be less serious.

The writings of early Church fathers listed eight major sins, which were gluttony, lust or fornication, avarice or greed, pride, sorrow or despair, wrath, vainglory and laziness. The list was further categorized into three types: lustful appetite, irascibility, and intellect.

Pope Gregory I, in AD 590, revised the list to take the common form as used today. He combined several of the multiple labels and added Envy. The Gregorian list was used by Dante in his “The Divine Comedy” poem. The final list in the Dante order was comprised of:

  • Lechery or Lust
  • Gluttony
  • Avarice or Greed
  • Sloth or Discouragement
  • Wrath
  • Envy
  • Pride

But we should know that the new covenant talks of something different. In the New Testament we are to consider ourselves dead to sin and alive in Christ. Sin should have no power of us if we are focused on the things above and not the things below. So know you are not a sinner saved by grace but now you are more than that. You are a Saint. So even though we know of the seven deadly sin, as new covenant believers we have victory over sin. Walk it in Jesus name. Instead of thinking about sin, why not pray these prayers and begin the live the life of heaven.

What Are The Seven Deadly Sins

What Are The Seven Deadly Sins

What Are The Seven Deadly Sins

What Are The Seven Deadly Sins

What Are The Seven Deadly Sins

What Are The Seven Deadly Sins

Share Your Comments


How To Pray The Scriptures © 2015

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.